Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Last flight : a novel
2020
Find It
Syndetics Unbound
Summary

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY BESTSELLER, & INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER!

"The Last Flight is thoroughly absorbing--not only because of its tantalizing plot and deft pacing, but also because of its unexpected poignancy and its satisfying, if bittersweet, resolution. The characters get under your skin."--The New York Times Book Review

Two women. Two flights. One last chance to disappear.

Claire Cook has a perfect life. Married to the scion of a political dynasty, with a Manhattan townhouse and a staff of ten, her surroundings are elegant, her days flawlessly choreographed, and her future auspicious. But behind closed doors, nothing is quite as it seems. That perfect husband has a temper that burns bright and he's not above using his staff to track Claire's every move.

What he doesn't know is that Claire has worked for months on a plan to vanish. A plan that takes her to the airport, poised to run from it all. But a chance meeting in the airport bar brings her together with a woman whose circumstances seem equally dire. Together they make a last-minute decision.

The two women switch tickets, with Claire taking Eva's flight to Oakland, and Eva traveling to Puerto Rico as Claire. They believe the swap will give each of them the head start they need to begin again somewhere far away. But when the flight to Puerto Rico crashes, Claire realizes it's no longer a head start but a new life. Cut off, out of options, with the news of her death about to explode in the media, Claire will assume Eva's identity, and along with it, the secrets Eva fought so hard to keep hidden.

For fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine, The Last Flight is the story of two women--both alone, both scared--and one agonizing decision that will change the trajectory of both of their lives.

Praise for The Last Flight:

"The Last Flight is a wild ride: One part Strangers on a Train, one part Breaking Bad, with more twists than an amusement park roller coaster! Julie Clark is a devilishly inventive storyteller."

--Janelle Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear and Pretty Things

"The Last Flight is everything you want in a book: a gripping story of suspense; haunting, vulnerable characters; and a chilling and surprising ending that stays with you long after the last page."

--Aimee Molloy, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Mother

"The perfect combination of beautiful prose and high suspense, and an ending that I guarantee will catch you off guard."

--Kimberly Belle, internationally bestselling author of Dear Wife and The Marriage Lie

"The Last Flight sweeps you into a thrilling story of two desperate women who will do anything to escape their lives. Both poignant and addictive, you'll race through the pages to the novel's chilling end. A must read of the summer!"

--Kaira Rouda, internationally bestselling author of Best Day Ever and The Favorite

Fiction/Biography Profile
Genre
Fiction
Trade Reviews
Publishers Weekly Review
In this outstanding thriller from Clark (The Ones We Choose), New York socialite Clair Cook, who has a plan to run away from her emotionally and physically abusive husband, and Eva James, a woman heading home to Berkeley, Calif., who says she's mourning her late husband, meet by chance at an airport bar at JFK before their flights. Claire tells Eva that she would do anything not to go to Puerto Rico, where her husband is expecting her. Eva agrees to fly to Puerto Rico in Claire's place, and the two swap e-tickets and phones. On arrival at Oakland's airport, Claire learns that the Puerto Rico flight has crashed, killing everyone aboard. Though she's devastated that Eva has died in the crash, Claire takes the opportunity to assume the life Eva left behind only to discover that Eva was not who she said she was and was fleeing her own dangerous past. The moral dilemmas that the multifaceted, realistic characters face in their quest for survival lend weight to this pulse-pounding tale of suspense. Clark is definitely a writer to watch. Agent: Mollie Glick, Creative Artists Agency. (June)
Booklist Review
In this second novel from the author of The Ones We Choose (2018), which has been optioned for television by Lionsgate, two desperate women are willing to take extreme measures to forge new lives. Claire, who married into a powerful political family, is suffering spousal abuse, her every move being monitored. Eva, who just wanted to fit in, finds herself drowning in the drug underworld. On the run, they meet, seemingly by chance, at JFK and make a last-minute decision to switch tickets. When the plane carrying Eva goes down, Claire assumes her identity. At first relieved to have pulled off a vanishing act so successful that everyone believes she is dead, Claire soon finds that she has placed herself in the danger from which Eva was running. The "by chance" element throughout the narrative makes the story somewhat implausible. Fans of thrillers about gone girls and vanished ladies will enjoy the tale, although some readers may wonder if Claire and Eva's situations might better have been resolved in a more straightforward way.
Kirkus Review
Two women risk everything to leave their troubled lives behind. In just a week, Claire Cook's husband, Rory, will announce his campaign to be a U.S. senator from New York. No surprise there, since his family is chock full of high-profile politicians. As Rory's wife, the poised and beautiful Claire seems to lead a charmed life, but it's getting harder to hide the bruises under a carefully cultivated veneer of elegance. Claire tried to leave him once, an attempt that ended with cracked ribs. But this time, she's ready. She's been squirreling away cash, she's secured a fake ID and passport, and a trip to Detroit will provide the perfect opportunity to make her escape. However, before Claire leaves for the airport, Rory decides to send her to Puerto Rico to meet with a humanitarian group instead of going to Detroit. Even worse, Rory goes to Detroit in her place and intercepts the package containing her cash and papers. At JFK, Claire, seemingly by chance, meets Eva, a grieving woman looking to make a new start after her husband's death. Claire suggests that Eva take her flight to Puerto Rico, and Claire will head to Eva's home in Berkeley, where she'll attempt to slip into Eva's life. After touching down, Claire learns that Eva's plane crashed and Claire is presumed dead, but she's not out of the woods yet. Claire cleverly set up a way to keep track of Rory's messages to his head honcho, and when evidence suggests that Eva might not have actually been on that doomed plane, Claire's plans take on a new urgency and it's revealed that Eva's story masked a dark truth. Propulsive prose drives Clark's tale of the intersecting lives of these two smart and resourceful women, and emphasis is placed on the importance of female friendship and support. Readers will surely find themselves hopelessly invested in Claire's and Eva's ultimate fates. A tense and engaging womancentric thriller. Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
LDR |||||cam a22||||| i 4500
001 1245703
005 20200619104631.0
008 190830s2020 ilu 000 1 eng
010 $a 2019038807
040 $aDLC$beng$erda$cDLC
020 $a9781728215723$q(hardcover)
020 $a1728215722$q(hardcover)
035 $a(OCoLC)1112425160
050 00 $aPS3603.L36467$bL37 2020
082 00 $a813/.6$223
049 $aIKGA
099 $aF$aCLARK
100 1 $aClark, Julie,$d1971-$eauthor.
245 10 $aLast flight :$ba novel /$cJulie Clark.
264 1 $aNaperville, Illinois :$bSourcebooks Landmark,$c[2020]
300 $a311 pages ;$c24 cm
336 $atext$btxt$2rdacontent
337 $aunmediated$bn$2rdamedia
338 $avolume$bnc$2rdacarrier
520 $a"Fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine will love The Last Flight, a novel focusing on two women who meet in an airport, both alone, both scared, and both urgently needing an escape from their lives. Claire Cook has a husband whose temper burns as bright as his promising political career, and she has worked for months on a plan to get out. A chance meeting in an airport bar brings her together with a stranger equally as desperate. Together they hatch a plan to switch tickets - Claire taking Eva's flight to Oakland, and Eva traveling to Puerto Rico as Claire. But then one plane crashes, and it's clear that one of them wasn't telling the truth"--$cProvided by publisher.
650 0 $aLife change events$vFiction.
655 7 $aSuspense fiction.$2gsafd
035 $a(OCoLC)on1112425160
999 $bCLARK, Julie$c0$g2$h2$i2$j2$k0$x813/.6$z0$!2
Displaying 1 of 1